NEW JERSEY CAR ACCIDENT LAWYERS
Reckless, distracted or negligent drivers as well as roadwork maintenance crews and faulty vehicle parts cause serious accidents that can leave people with major physical injuries and expensive property damage. These injuries can be life-changing causing pain and potential permanent injuries.
If you or a loved one were involved in a car accident time is of the essence and evidence from the accident needs to be preserved.
Contact us today at 1-800-681-3550 and we will begin working for you immediately.
Do I HAVE A CAR ACCIDENT CLAIM IN NEW JERSEY?
Reckless, distracted, or negligent drivers, as well as roadwork maintenance crews and faulty vehicle parts, cause serious accidents that can leave people with major physical injuries and expensive property damage. These injuries can be life-changing, causing pain and potentially permanent injuries. If you or a loved one have been injured in a car accident, you could be compensated for your injuries and pursuing legal action is the best way to ensure that you are provided with the justice you deserve.
New Jersey is a no-fault car insurance state, so after an accident, you typically need to file the claim under your own personal injury protection coverage in order to receive compensation for either property loss, medical expenses, etc. regardless of who is at fault in the accident. Vehicle owners in New Jersey are required to have at least a basic insurance policy. Under this no-fault policy, your insurance company will be the ones covering your financial damages for you, up to the limits of the policy. A no-fault claim can get you compensation for your injuries, but not for vehicle damage.
In some serious cases, a driver is able to directly sue the at-fault driver outside of those parameters. This includes accidents that involve death, or injuries such as
- Significant scarring or disfigurement
- Loss of a body part
- Loss of a fetus
- Permanent injury
- Displaced fracture
What Should I Do After A Car Accident?
If you’ve been involved in a car accident, you need to act immediately. The State of New Jersey requires that you report an accident if it involves injury, death, or more than $500 in damage to the vehicles or property. You will then need to submit a written report to the NJ DOT within 10 days of the accident.
Besides calling law enforcement or emergency services, you also should:
- Make note of details about the road conditions/weather at the time of the accident
- Make solid observations about the accident, such as what you saw, what each car was doing, and identify witnesses
- See a doctor as soon as you can after the accident
- Take photos of the vehicles, the scene of the accident, your injuries, etc.
Following these steps can help solidify your case and provide the proof needed to get you compensation for your financial losses or injuries
What Do I Need To Prove in a Car Accident Claim in New Jersey?
The statute of limitations in New Jersey for filing a claim in a motor vehicle accident case is two years. You will also need to prove fault on the part of the other party and damages to you personally. This could include speeding, which can be proven through an investigation of the scene, traffic or surveillance cameras, etc. It could also include a drunk driver, so a breathalyzer or blood/urine tests will be important in this case.
You can also use eyewitness statements, the police report, records of your medical treatment post-accident, cell phone records (to determine if they were using their phone while driving), and photos of the scene to prove your case. This is why gathering information immediately after the accident and making sure to keep all records related to it is crucial, and can help you win your case.
In one of our own motor vehicle accident cases, we successfully sued a bar in Trenton, New Jersey, for over-serving one of their patrons. The patron then left the restaurant and got behind the wheel of a car while his blood alcohol level was over 4 times the legal limit, seriously injuring the two passengers in the vehicle (our clients). The driver lost control of the vehicle and crashed into a wall. The passengers were Sergeants in the Air Force and sustained life-altering and career-altering injuries as a result of the crash. They were compensated $1,075,000 in total.
What Should I Do If I Think I Have A Car Accident Case?
If you or a loved one were involved in a car accident, time is of the essence, and evidence from the accident needs to be preserved. Pursuing legal action against another driver, or pursuing compensation from an insurance company can be tedious, and you need an expert motor vehicle lawyer on your side.
Contact us today at 1-800-681-3550, or fill out our contact form, and we will begin working for you immediately.
I would highly recommend Mr. Hollawell for any of your legal needs. I was seriously injured in an Automobile Accident on November 22, 2016. I could not have gotten through the mountain of paperwork, dealing with insurance companies, hospital medical records, and the local police department without Mr. Hollawell’s help. He knew who to contact every step of the way.K. Eachus
Richard Hollawell is like no other attorney. I was represented better than I could’ve ever imagined. My needs were put first and was treated as a friend rather than a client. My opinions were valued and my doubts were always reassured. My nerves were calmed and the process was always explain to me, even if I needed reassurance over and over.M.Edwards
I was a client of Rick Hollawell. He handled my case with persistence and professionalism. Mr Hollawell always Kept superb communication with me. Communication is key and you definitely get that from Rick! He also is a fighter and will work day in and day out for his clients. I’m extremely pleased with the outcome of my case!Jarrod
LET US FIGHT FOR YOU. CALL TODAY!
This website is for informational purposes only. Using this site or communicating with Richard J. Hollawell & Associates through this site does not form an attorney/client relationship. This site is legal advertising.